How do I know if I shared a student with a teacher?
The roster will tell you exactly how many teachers each student is currently shared with. You can click on the link provided to see which teachers have access to that student's data.
A teacher just shared their class with me, but I don’t see that roster in my account. Why?
- Make sure you have a class created on the Roster page. Until you do this, you won’t be able to “receive” any students.
- When another teacher shares a class (or just a student) with you, that student automatically is put into your first, or default class. To “move” the student into another class of yours, click the settings button next to that student's name, and select “Move to another class of mine.” Choose the class that student should be moved to, and voila - you’re all set!
When I share a student with another teacher, what can I see regarding that student? And how about the teacher I shared the student with?
Whether you are the “owner” of that student or the teacher that “received” that student, you are able to see all the student’s data and activity in your reports.
If I shared multiple students or a student with a teacher, which class code should the student use?
The student will technically be able to log in using both class codes, but should always use the class code unique to the teacher they’re currently working with (for assignment purposes).
If I’m the “owner” of the student in the roster, and I give out 3 assignments, and the teacher I shared the student with gives out 2 assignments, what will the student see?
The student will see 5 assignments on their dashboard.
What happens if I “remove” a student from my roster that I’ve shared with another teacher?
Neither you nor the “receiving” teacher will see the student anymore. However, the student can be “restored” at any time by going to the Roster page, scrolling all the way to the bottom, and clicking on "See my removed students". You can elect to “Restore” any student from that list, which will add that student back to your first class roster, from which you can re-share the student.
If I’m the “owner” of the student and I have focus mode turned on, will the student have to complete all assignments with me and the teacher I shared the student with?
No, the student will only be in “focus mode” in your class, as long as the student uses your class code when logging into Freckle.
What is the benefit of sharing?
- For the student, they only need to take the diagnostic pre-tests one time, and, most importantly (!!) they can aggregate their coins in one place.
- For teachers, everyone who works with the student can see comprehensive data and results for that student.